Members
  • Total Members: 12816
  • Latest: t114563
Stats
  • Total Posts: 28524
  • Total Topics: 8240
  • Online Today: 922
  • Online Ever: 51419
  • (01. January 2010., 10:27:49)












Author Topic: Get error when open rar  (Read 1808 times)

0 Members and 8 Guests are viewing this topic.

GezaToth

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • KARMA: 0
  • Gender: Male
Get error when open rar
« on: 18. May 2016., 12:34:51 »
(I am asking this question on behalf of a co-worker).

-  We have an 11 Gigabyte RAR  (WinRAR) file.
-  When we try to uncompress the file we are getting a CRC (checksum) error.
-  We are using the latest version of WinRAR  (3.4.2).
-  The WinRAR repair utility is not working on the file.
-  We are unable to extract the and keep it even if it is bad (WinRAR allows you to do this sometimes...extract without confirmation does not work).

Any help would be appreciated!!!!

Samker's Computer Forum - SCforum.info

Get error when open rar
« on: 18. May 2016., 12:34:51 »




jheysen

  • SCF Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 754
  • KARMA: 100
  • Gender: Male
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #1 on: 19. May 2016., 03:54:52 »
Well... it's corrrupted, nothing to do there except recover from source/backup

devnullius

  • SCF VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3507
  • KARMA: 152
  • Gender: Female
    • SCForum.info
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #2 on: 19. May 2016., 14:45:13 »
7-zip is less strict... If that fails too... Well I think you have to give your friend some bad news :(
More information about bitcoin, altcoin & crypto in general? GO TO  j.gs/7385484/btc

Cuisvis hominis est errare, nullius nisi insipientis in errore persevare... So why not get the real SCForum employees to help YOUR troubled computer!!! SCF Remote PC Assist http://goo.gl/n1ONa9

JosephBaker

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • KARMA: 1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #3 on: 24. May 2016., 14:30:12 »
WinRAR has a built-in function that lets you bypass CRC errors. During the normal process, the extracted file is deleted once the error occurs. Right-click the RAR and select "Extract Files..." to open the general options window. Under "Miscellaneous," put a check by "Keep Broken Files." The file saves to the folder you specify, despite the CRC data. Many files will not work using this method if they are too damaged, but some will. You might be able to help also program RAR Recovery Toolbox. There is a demo version and you can verify whether this utility is useful to you or not. http://www.oemailrecovery.com/rar_recovery.html

JosephBaker

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • KARMA: 1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #4 on: 24. May 2016., 14:34:20 »
Oh, Just in case you read this information. Might find something useful.
https://community.office365.com/en-us/f/172/t/269398

GezaToth

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • KARMA: 0
  • Gender: Male
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #5 on: 27. May 2016., 17:47:36 »
Thank you guys for your feedback and help. Sorry, that long time did not respond. This is because the issue was solved and I forgot to tell.) Thank you!

googlemail

  • Guest
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #6 on: 18. July 2016., 04:29:41 »
Hi GezaToth,
I'm meet same your problem :( Can you show me how to resolve it. Thanks you. I received my files from my friend via Google Mail.

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #7 on: 17. August 2016., 19:02:45 »
Hi GezaToth,
I'm meet same your problem :( Can you show me how to resolve it. Thanks you. I received my files from my friend via Google Mail.

Pal, I advise you to read previous replies... solution "lies" there. ;)

zocker

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • KARMA: 12
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #8 on: 09. September 2016., 13:00:24 »
-  We are using the latest version of WinRAR  (3.4.2).
This isn't the latest version, 5.40 is the current one.

@googlemail
Try to use the latest version or get another copy of the file.

bigfootangel

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • KARMA: -1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Get error when open rar
« Reply #9 on: 04. October 2016., 02:07:53 »
You can try a more updated version of WinRAR. It may also be that the file size is too large for WinRAR puedad work with him ...

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
Second Anti-Bot trap, type or simply copy-paste below (only the red letters):www.scforum.info:

Enter your email address to receive daily email with 'SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum' newest content:

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Advertising