Members
  • Total Members: 12818
  • Latest: martin
Stats
  • Total Posts: 28535
  • Total Topics: 8240
  • Online Today: 980
  • Online Ever: 51419
  • (01. January 2010., 10:27:49)












Author Topic: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?  (Read 9924 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

F3RL

  • SCF Advanced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • KARMA: 18
  • Gender: Male
VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« on: 15. March 2009., 12:39:06 »
Hello,

I am currently using McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.5i + Patch 7. For some reason the computer freezes for few seconds and starts working again.
I did fresh install without ethernet cable plugged in but before I install VSE it did not freeze but after installing VSE it freezes.

You can move mouse around the screen but when you click on start or desktop icon or whatever AFTER few seconds of startup, it freezes.

Does anyone have experienced this sort of bug or something?
well? understand ma bad English.

Samker's Computer Forum - SCforum.info

VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« on: 15. March 2009., 12:39:06 »




Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #1 on: 15. March 2009., 13:10:06 »
Hello,

I am currently using McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.5i + Patch 7. For some reason the computer freezes for few seconds and starts working again.
I did fresh install without ethernet cable plugged in but before I install VSE it did not freeze but after installing VSE it freezes.

You can move mouse around the screen but when you click on start or desktop icon or whatever AFTER few seconds of startup, it freezes.

Does anyone have experienced this sort of bug or something?


I notice the same thing only in time when AV "pick" new update definitions or start scheduled Weekly Scan.

Check that first.  ;)

 

F3RL

  • SCF Advanced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • KARMA: 18
  • Gender: Male
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #2 on: 16. March 2009., 11:43:22 »
Thank you for reply,
I only do On-demand scan every weekends, no scheduled task except AutoUpdate I set the schedule to check for updates after 5:00AM, and missed task delayed by 5 minutes.

I dont have a big problem with it but the startup seems to be laggy.
well? understand ma bad English.

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #3 on: 16. March 2009., 22:30:43 »

hmmm ???

I don't have any more ideas right now...

Anybody else??

 

georgecloner

  • SCF VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 171
  • KARMA: 16
  • Gender: Male
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #4 on: 17. March 2009., 04:18:10 »
Try to access XP's event viewer and study them closely for defined errors (usually signed with a red marked icon).

For fast access: START>RUN

type in: "c:\windows\system32\mmc.exe c:\windows\system32\eventvwr.msc"

Kindly give us info on errors you may find.

Is your MCAfee a legit one?
Creativity is a mental and social process involving the generation of new ideas or concepts, or new associations of the creative mind between existing ideas or concepts.

F3RL

  • SCF Advanced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • KARMA: 18
  • Gender: Male
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #5 on: 17. March 2009., 10:25:33 »
Try to access XP's event viewer and study them closely for defined errors (usually signed with a red marked icon).

type in: "c:\windows\system32\mmc.exe c:\windows\system32\eventvwr.msc"

Is your MCAfee a legit one?

Sorry but I do not use 'legit' copy of VSE, it is pirated one (I apologize McAfee but I will get Internet Security suite soon).
Would you like the copy of it in case it contains malicious codes?
But it seems only happens to my computer, other laptops, computers I've installed have no problem with freezing at startup.

Thank you for your suggestion.  :thumbsup: and I will have a look at the event log
well? understand ma bad English.

babynegro

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • KARMA: 1
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #6 on: 15. April 2009., 13:48:03 »
I have experienced the same problem in one of my computers. Think the problem are the hardware limitations (e.g. Processor, Memory, etc...).

I disabled the McAfee for launch at startup and it boot a little bit faster.

Current PC Configuration:
Brand: Dell Dimension 8200
OS: Windows XP Professional SP3
Processor: Pentium 4 1.8Ghz
Memory: 512MB RDRAM Dual Channel 400Mhz



georgecloner

  • SCF VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 171
  • KARMA: 16
  • Gender: Male
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #7 on: 16. April 2009., 04:47:32 »
2 things:

1.  100% CPU usage. (too many process in the background / cpu overheats)
2.  Memory clogged.

Hey F3RL, I'll give you a legit one (VSE8.7). interested? ;D
Creativity is a mental and social process involving the generation of new ideas or concepts, or new associations of the creative mind between existing ideas or concepts.

HISNA

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • KARMA: 2
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #8 on: 25. April 2009., 06:29:50 »
I might be...;) I'll have to see why VSE8.7 is better than 8.5i before I installit tho....lol. I'll let you know if I want it or not.

F3RL

  • SCF Advanced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • KARMA: 18
  • Gender: Male
Re: VSE8.5i freezes XP startup for few seconds, WHY?
« Reply #9 on: 25. April 2009., 10:39:42 »
Hey F3RL, I'll give you a legit one (VSE8.7). interested? ;D

Well, that would be greate if you could share the copy of legit VSE8.7, but...
Isn't it a little bit unstable? Because I have a copy of VSE8.7 (downloaded long time ago) but
it seems to be slow and unstable - I was waiting for a patch to come out.

Btw, it would be great if you could share :P thank you.

- Eric
well? understand ma bad English.

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
Second Anti-Bot trap, type or simply copy-paste below (only the red letters):www.scforum.info:

Enter your email address to receive daily email with 'SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum' newest content:

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Advertising