Members
  • Total Members: 12816
  • Latest: t114563
Stats
  • Total Posts: 28524
  • Total Topics: 8240
  • Online Today: 993
  • Online Ever: 51419
  • (01. January 2010., 10:27:49)












Author Topic: SK_det.mcs corrupt  (Read 6564 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

firefox

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • KARMA: 3
SK_det.mcs corrupt
« on: 31. May 2009., 21:06:59 »
When ever i update my Mc  Afee 8.5i,  i get a message SK_det.mcs corrupt, how do i solve this problem. I suppose it  does not affect anything. Any remedial action?

Samker's Computer Forum - SCforum.info

SK_det.mcs corrupt
« on: 31. May 2009., 21:06:59 »




Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: McAfee SK_det.mcs corrupt
« Reply #1 on: 01. June 2009., 09:59:35 »
When ever i update my Mc  Afee 8.5i,  i get a message SK_det.mcs corrupt, how do i solve this problem. I suppose it  does not affect anything. Any remedial action?

I have same "problem" time to time and that isn't something big...  ;)

Quote
Summary
Client computers may receive an incorrect message when attempting to download the SpamKiller rule detection script.

Note:
This message typically displays because of a resumable download, and NOT because of any corruption.

Here is official explanation from McAfee: https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB59688



Triden

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • KARMA: 3
Re: SK_det.mcs corrupt
« Reply #2 on: 16. September 2009., 22:29:28 »
I followed the directions here to remove CMA 3.6.0 (since its going EOL Dec 09)

https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB552081

and then installed McAfee Agent 4.0.0 patch 2 using the standalone installer.

It installed without an issue and I am now able to run 'update now' without seeing all those "cosmetic" errors.  The update process also seems quicker as well--I believe it doesn't download those "corrupt" files anymore.

Hope this helps..

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: SK_det.mcs corrupt
« Reply #3 on: 17. September 2009., 06:18:42 »
I followed the directions here to remove CMA 3.6.0 (since its going EOL Dec 09)

https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB552081

and then installed McAfee Agent 4.0.0 patch 2 using the standalone installer.

It installed without an issue and I am now able to run 'update now' without seeing all those "cosmetic" errors.  The update process also seems quicker as well--I believe it doesn't download those "corrupt" files anymore.

Hope this helps..

Please check again this link. It doesn't work for me??

Thanks.

Triden

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • KARMA: 3
Re: SK_det.mcs corrupt
« Reply #4 on: 17. September 2009., 17:41:10 »
Weird.  I cut and pasted the URL from the browser... Looks like the previous had an extra '1' in the id.  Here it is:

https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB55208

(In case it doesn't work for you, here is the text)

Summary
There are times when a manual procedure is required to remove the Common Management Agent (CMA).
 
Examples of situations which might require a manual removal:

    * A failed upgrade leaves mismatched files which prevent standard removal methods
    * Issues with the Access Protection features included in VirusScan Enterprise 8.5i or later
    * File corruption before or during an upgrade
    * Conflicts with third party software


In McAfee VirusScan Enterprise (VSE) 8.5i and later, the Access Protection option Prevent McAfee services from being stopped may require extra steps to be performed.
 
This article includes four separate solutions based on the most common product configurations or removal scenarios:

    * If VSE 8.5i is currently installed (standalone or managed by ePolicy Orchestrator), see Solution 1.
       
    * If VSE 8.5i was installed and then later uninstalled while Prevent McAfee services from being stopped was enabled, see Solution 2.
       
    * If VSE 8.5i was installed and then uninstalled while Prevent McAfee services from being stopped was disabled or if VSE 8.5i was never installed, see Solution 3.

      NOTE: This solution can also be used if you are running a previous version of VirusScan Enterprise (VSE 7.1 or VSE 8.0i).
    * If the other three solutions do not apply to your situation or fail to resolve the issue, perform a full manual removal with Solution 4.

Solution 1
Step 1 - Disable the option Prevent McAfee services from being stopped

For stand alone installations of VSE 8.5i or later:

   1.
      Click, Start, Programs, McAfee, VirusScan Console.
   2.
      Right-click Access Protection and select Properties.
   3.
      Deselect Prevent McAfee services from being stopped.
   4.
      Click Apply.
   5.
      Close the VirusScan Console.
   6.
      Proceed to Step 2.

If VSE is managed by ePolicy Orchestrator (ePO):

   1.
      Click Start, Programs, McAfee, ePolicy Orchestrator 3.6.x Console.
   2. Select the directory or machine level the VSE8.5i policy will be changed.
   3.
      In the right pane, expand the Virus Enterprise 8.5.0 policy.
   4.
      Click Edit next to Access Protection Policies.
   5.
      Click the Access Protection tab.
   6.
      Deselect Prevent McAfee services from being stopped.
   7.
      Click Apply.
   8.
      Send an Agent Wakeup Call to to apply changes or wait for the next enforce policy to take effect.
   9.
      Close the ePO Console.

Step 2 - Remove CMA from the command prompt

   1.
      Click Start, Run and type the appropriate command below:
       
          *
            For a new installation of VirusScan Enterprise 8.5i or later:

             "c:\Program Files\Network Associates\Common Framework\frminst.exe" /forceuninstall
          *
            For an upgrade installation from VSE 8.0i or earlier (or if the system is running VSE 8.0i or earlier)

            "c:\Program Files\McAfee\Common Framework\frminst.exe" /forceuninstall

            NOTE: You can use Windows Explorer to determine the correct path to frminst.exe.

             
   2.
      Restart the system to remove CMA processes from memory and complete the file deletion.

 
If this procedure fails to fully remove the Common Management Agent, follow the manual uninstall procedure in Solution 4.
Solution 2
Use this solution if VSE 8.5i was installed and then uninstalled while Prevent McAfee services from being stopped was enabled.
 
Step 1 - Reinstall VSE 8.5i and disable protection of McAfee services

IMPORTANT: This solution requires that you reinstall VSE 8.5i. If you are unable to reinstall VSE, use the full manual removal procedure in Solution 4.

   1. Install VirusScan Enterprise 8.5i.
   2. Disable the option Prevent McAfee services from being stopped:

         1.
            Click, Start, Programs, McAfee, VirusScan Console.
         2.
            Right-click Access Protection and select Properties.
         3.
            Deselect Prevent McAfee services from being stopped.
         4.
            Click Apply.
         5.
            Close the VirusScan Console.

   3. Uninstall VSE 8.5i.

Step 2 - Remove CMA from the command prompt

   1.
      Click Start, Run, type the command below (including quotation marks), and press ENTER:

      "c:\Program Files\McAfee\Common Framework\frminst.exe" /forceuninstall

   2.
      Restart the system to remove CMA processes from memory and complete the file deletion.Step 3 - Manual removal if Step 3 fails.

 
If this procedure fails to fully remove the Common Management Agent, follow the manual uninstall procedure in Solution 4.
Solution 3
Use this solution if VSE 8.5i was installed and then uninstalled while Prevent McAfee services from being stopped was disabled or if VSE 8.5i was never installed.

Step 1 - Remove CMA from the command prompt

   1.
      Click Start, Run and type the appropriate command below:
       
          *
            For a new installation of VirusScan Enterprise 8.5i or later:

             "c:\Program Files\Network Associates\Common Framework\frminst.exe" /forceuninstall
          *
            For an upgrade installation from VSE 8.0i or earlier (or if the system is running VSE 8.0i or earlier)

            "c:\Program Files\McAfee\Common Framework\frminst.exe" /forceuninstall

            NOTE: You can use Windows Explorer to determine the correct path to frminst.exe.

   2.
      Restart the system to remove CMA processes from memory and complete the file deletion.Step 3 - Manual removal if Step 3 fails.

 
If this procedure fails to fully remove the Common Management Agent, follow the manual uninstall procedure in Solution 4.
Solution 4
Full manual removal procedure for CMA 3.6.x

CAUTION: This article contains information about opening or modifying the registry.

    * The following information is intended for System Administrators. Registry modifications are irreversible and could cause system failure if done incorrectly.
    * Before proceeding, McAfee strongly recommends backing up your registry and understanding the restore process. For more information, see: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/256986
    * Do not run a .REG file that is not confirmed to be a genuine registry import file.



Step 1 - Disable the McAfee Framework Service via the Windows registry

   1. Click Start, Run, type regedit and click OK.
   2. Navigate to and select the following key:

      [HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\McAfeeFramework]

   3. In the right pane, double-click the Start string and change the Value data to 4.
   4. Restart the system.

Step 2 - End all running CMA processes:

   1. Click Start, run, type taskmgr, and click OK.
   2. Click the Processes tab.
   3. Select each of the processes below and click End Process. Click Yes when prompted to confirm:

          * McTray.exe
          * UpdaterUI.exe
          * naPrdMgr.exe

   4. Close the Task Manager.

Step 3 - Registry edits:

   1. Click Start, Run, type regedit, and click OK.
   2. Navigate to and expand the following key:

      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services]

   3. Right-click the McAfeeFramework sub-key and select Delete.
   4. Delete any entries for the McAfeeFramework sub-key under each of the following registry keys:

          * [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services]
          * [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services]
          * [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSetXXX\Services]

   5. Navigate to and select the following registry key:

      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Associates\TVD\Shared Components\Framework]

   6. Make note of the Installed Path and the Data Path values.
   7. In Windows Explorer, delete the folders mentioned in the above registry values.
   8. Navigate to and expand the following key:

      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Associates\TVD\Shared Components]

   9. Right-click the Framework sub-key and select Delete.
  10. Navigate to the following key:

      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\McAfee\McTray]

  11. Right-click the McTray key and select Delete.
  12. Restart the system.

Related Information
KB65863 - Manual removal instructions for McAfee Agent 4.x
KB57061 - Manual removal instructions for the Common Management Agent 3.5.x
Previous Document ID
9611891

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: SK_det.mcs corrupt
« Reply #5 on: 17. September 2009., 19:10:59 »
Quote
Weird.  I cut and pasted the URL from the browser... Looks like the previous had an extra '1' in the id.  Here it is:

https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB55208

(In case it doesn't work for you, here is the text)

Now is Ok, thanks pal.  :thumbsup:

krrjhn

  • SCF Advanced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • KARMA: -5
Re: SK_det.mcs corrupt
« Reply #6 on: 15. January 2011., 07:07:48 »
I was facing the same problem Thanks for help pal it works !!

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
Second Anti-Bot trap, type or simply copy-paste below (only the red letters):www.scforum.info:

Enter your email address to receive daily email with 'SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum' newest content:

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Advertising