Members
  • Total Members: 12818
  • Latest: martin
Stats
  • Total Posts: 28534
  • Total Topics: 8240
  • Online Today: 1027
  • Online Ever: 51419
  • (01. January 2010., 10:27:49)












Author Topic: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported  (Read 10364 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kirangampala

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • KARMA: 2
Hi,

I am getting the following warning message

"McAfee VirusScan Enterprise is on but is reporting its status to windows security center in a format that is no longer supported. Use the program's automatic updating feature or contact the program manufacturer for an updated version.

Can I ignore this warning? How do I rectify this issue.

I am unable to find a solution to this as I am entirely new to Windows Administration.

Kindly suggest me.

Thanks in advance,
Kiran.

Samker's Computer Forum - SCforum.info





zsaurabh

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • KARMA: 3
Re: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported
« Reply #1 on: 19. July 2009., 16:46:54 »
Check the Services, Mcafree framework and Mcshield Service should be running

kirangampala

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • KARMA: 2
Re: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported
« Reply #2 on: 27. July 2009., 17:23:21 »
the services shows as stopped. how to make it running??

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported
« Reply #3 on: 27. July 2009., 18:23:27 »
the services shows as stopped. how to make it running??

I think to best way is to try to repair them:

Control Panel / Add or Remove Programs / Select McAfee AV / Click on Change / Run Repair option

In case that some Malware infection are "kill" this process you'll need to folow my earlier instructions here: http://scforum.info/index.php/topic,3039.0.html

Best Regards,

S.


zouldiers

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • KARMA: 1
Re: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported
« Reply #4 on: 06. October 2009., 14:15:11 »
Update it using the latest patch. You can find the patch in this forums.

yolunga2000

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • KARMA: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Of all the NAC products why Clean Access???
    • My Facebook lol
Re: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported
« Reply #5 on: 04. November 2009., 17:37:00 »
I too ran into this during the summer. Initially, I was using VSE8.5i with some Patch < 6, then I installed Win7RC (to test before upgrading all my computers) and I still got that message when I updated to VSE8.5iP6. I am about to install Win7 for real (upgrading all my computers), and would like to know if VSE8.5iP8 fixes this very issue when running it on Win7 (i.e. does it then report the status properly in Win7)?
La vie est hérissée de ces épines, et je n'y sais d'autre remède que de cultiver son jardin
--Voltaire

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported
« Reply #6 on: 05. November 2009., 08:02:41 »

Hi Y., for Win 7 you need McAfee 8.7 with Patch 2 and everything will be fine. ;)



krrjhn

  • SCF Advanced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • KARMA: -5
Re: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported
« Reply #7 on: 25. January 2011., 07:44:14 »
Thanks for sharing !!

jheysen

  • SCF Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 755
  • KARMA: 100
  • Gender: Male
Re: McAfee Antivirus reporting format is no longer supported
« Reply #8 on: 12. February 2011., 01:03:36 »
The problem is not VSE itself, but the CMA/MCAgent, wich is outdated, you need to get the latest pacth for the version you are using (CMA 3.6.x/MCAgent 4.0/4.5) and that will solve the problem.
(though sometimes you will see windows reporting the AV as deactivated while its not)

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
Second Anti-Bot trap, type or simply copy-paste below (only the red letters):www.scforum.info:

Enter your email address to receive daily email with 'SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum' newest content:

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Advertising