Members
  • Total Members: 12815
  • Latest: regjoe
Stats
  • Total Posts: 28521
  • Total Topics: 8240
  • Online Today: 924
  • Online Ever: 51419
  • (01. January 2010., 10:27:49)












Author Topic: Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8  (Read 5141 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

silverstone

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • KARMA: 2
Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8
« on: 30. January 2012., 15:07:08 »
Hello,

I have been using McAfee Virus Scan Enterprise 8.8 since a few years and never had a problem with it, until now!
Well I bought this wireless router to connect to internet using modem for my laptop and smartphone. But now every time i switch on the WiFi, i loose the connectivity after about 5 mins.
This may seem to be a network configuration problem or a router problem. But believe me i have everything setup right.
Recently i discovered that when i disable the "Access Protection" in Virusscan Console, i have no problem with the WiFi connection. After enabling the Access Protection, i again loose the WiFi connection.

I have no IPS or IDS or Firewall install.
Using McAfee VirusScan Enterprise + AntiSpyware Enterprise 8.8 with no patches.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Samker's Computer Forum - SCforum.info

Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8
« on: 30. January 2012., 15:07:08 »




jheysen

  • SCF Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 754
  • KARMA: 100
  • Gender: Male
Re: Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8
« Reply #1 on: 30. January 2012., 20:26:41 »
First apply Patch 1 and see if it keeps hapening, then you'll have to comment us hot did you set up your access protections rules

vishwanath99

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • KARMA: 6
  • Gender: Male
Re: Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8
« Reply #2 on: 31. January 2012., 08:29:45 »
open virus scan consol==>On-access scanner properties===>  blocking
Uncheck block

vishwanath99

  • SCF Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • KARMA: 6
  • Gender: Male
Re: Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8
« Reply #3 on: 31. January 2012., 10:00:31 »
by default block is enabled... Block the connection when a threat is detected

Check the on access protection statistics and also Log

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: Mcafee blocks Wireless router - WiFi
« Reply #4 on: 31. January 2012., 17:17:48 »

Hi Silverstone, just want to check did you successfully apply Patch 1 and do you still have problem with WiFi??




silverstone

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • KARMA: 2
Re: Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8
« Reply #5 on: 01. February 2012., 06:13:57 »
I did apply patch 1. Now the problem does not seems to be appearing.
I will test to for few days more with some continuous download.

Regards,
Silverstone

silverstone

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • KARMA: 2
Re: Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8
« Reply #6 on: 01. February 2012., 06:16:34 »
open virus scan consol==>On-access scanner properties===>  blocking
Uncheck block

But this option is to block the connection when a threat is detected in shared folder. Does this apply to a WiFi network?
I have no shared folders on my PC.

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: Mcafee blocks Wireless router - WiFi
« Reply #7 on: 01. February 2012., 08:07:47 »
I did apply patch 1. Now the problem does not seems to be appearing.
I will test to for few days more with some continuous download.

Regards,
Silverstone


Ok, that is good news... ;)


silverstone

  • SCF Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • KARMA: 2
Re: Issues using WiFi with Mcafee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8
« Reply #8 on: 02. February 2012., 11:56:25 »
Thank yous guys.. seems the problem is no more occurring.
I did not wanted to switch to another antivirus as my friend suggested coz mcafee has been my support for more than 3 years now.
Thank you.  :thumbsup:

Samker

  • SCF Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7206
  • KARMA: 291
  • Gender: Male
  • Whatever doesn't kill us makes us stronger.
    • SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum
Re: Mcafee blocks Wireless router - WiFi
« Reply #9 on: 02. February 2012., 17:27:16 »
Thank yous guys.. seems the problem is no more occurring.
I did not wanted to switch to another antivirus as my friend suggested coz mcafee has been my support for more than 3 years now.
Thank you.  :thumbsup:

You welcome pal.

Just like me, I'm really big McAfee fan... mostly because of perpetual license for VSE. No worries about licenses, keys... and of course very good protection. ;)

Cheers!

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
Second Anti-Bot trap, type or simply copy-paste below (only the red letters):www.scforum.info:

Enter your email address to receive daily email with 'SCforum.info - Samker's Computer Forum' newest content:

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Advertising